Overnight Oats

We’re told that breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day, right? I like breakfast, but I never really ate anything that filled me up and fueled me for the day. I would pick up a bagel or croissant from Starbucks on my way to class and scarf it down so the wrapper of the pastry wouldn’t crinkle during class. Or I’d munch on an apple or banana when walking, but it wouldn’t do much to keep my full or keep my belly from grumbling.

Many people suggested oatmeal. Oatmeal to me looks and has a texture similar to baby food. So if you can get over that or are into that, props to you. I can’t stand it. One day, my mom was flipping through a Costco magazine and saw a recipe for overnight oats. I figured I would give it a try, because it couldn’t be any more displeasurable than oatmeal to me, right? I tried them and WOW-AMAZING! They’re simple to make and keep in the fridge for up to 3 days. You can add any flavorings and fruits you like to it. You simply soak old fashioned oats in milk and Greek yogurt and mix in fruit, chia seeds, cocoa powder, anything you like. I used the Costco recipe for a few days, and knew that I needed a different recipe so it wasn’t such a monotonous breakfast.

I went to my best friend, Pinterest, and found tons of pins related to overnight oats. But the one I chose to pin was this one : https://www.pinterest.com/pin/569635052851893956/ It’s another blog that I encourage you to take a look at called “Back to Her Roots: Healthy Eats and Yummy Treats.” Thanks Cassie for this great recipe! http://backtoherroots.com/2016/03/07/8-classic-overnight-oats-recipes-you-should-try/

There’s 8 different flavors, ranging from classic to strawberry cheesecake to carrot cake and everything in between. There’s a base recipe (classThey take 2 minutes to make (or maybe longer if you like to savor the process like me) and serve 1 person. Perfect to take to work or eat quickly before your commute.

My favorite flavors are definitely the strawberry cheesecake and the chocolate banana. However, I like the carrot cake one because I can get a whole serving of veggies in! I have yet to try the pumpkin pie flavor because my store does not have pureed pumpkin yet (which I am bitter about but I know it will be in stores soon). You can alter these recipes in little ways whether it be for health reasons, you don’t like a certain ingredient, etc. For example, in the strawberry cheesecake flavor, I omitted the cream cheese (it’s not approved on my 21 Day Fix diet) and substituted the maple syrup for honey. I’m currently eating a variation of the strawberry cheesecake, with blueberries instead. You can also use any milk you like; I use nonfat or low fat, but if you have a dairy allergy,  you could use soy milk, almond milk, coconut milk, hemp milk (or whatever milk product you use. There’s so many out there). Same goes for the Greek yogurt. I use plain, but you could use vanilla flavored, regular yogurt, a yogurt cup, etc. The recipes just give you ideas to get you started, but you can make them to your liking.

I hope you’ll give Overnight Oats a try! They’re the healthy, filling, nutritious breakfast of champions. And they’ll certainly get you going on your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

 


Leave a Reply

