ALL the Squash (Pumpkin and Spaghetti)

Since it’s the first day of fall and I love everything fall related, I feasted on an entire day of pumpkin and spaghetti squash recipes. My love for fall and pumpkin may be because I’m an October baby, but honestly, who doesn’t love this season!? I thought I’d write about all of my recipes and don’t worry, if you’re SO OVER PSLs, you won’t find one on this list! So here goes:

Breakfast: If you follow my blog or have been on it recently, you’ll see my overnight oats post. They are a wonderful creation and are all the hype right now. On the website I got the recipes for 8 different overnight oats (Back to Her Roots blog by Cassie, see her blog website link in my Overnight Oats post), you’ll see one of the flavors is Pumpkin Spice. I didn’t get a chance to make/try it before that post because my store didn’t have pureed pumpkin in stock yet. BUT they had it at the store yesterday, so I whipped up the Pumpkin Spice Overnight Oats and they were DELICIOUS! Even better than the strawberry cheesecake, which was my favorite until now. You’ll see the picture of them below. Seriously try these if you’re a pumpkin food flavored connoisseur like me, want a quick and easy breakfast perfect for busy mornings, and love autumn! Here’s the site against in case you missed it in my other post: http://backtoherroots.com/2016/03/07/8-classic-overnight-oats-recipes-you-should-try/

Snack: I’m participating in my second round of the 21 Day Fix by Beachbody. The Beachbody program emphasizes Shakeology, which is a unique protein powder blend with many vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, superfoods, etc. After today’s workout (Pilates), I drank a Pumpkin Pie shake with Vanilla Shakeology as my base. Tasted just like a pumpkin pie (minus the crust) and was delicious! Here’s the recipe: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/569635052852018354/

Dinner: Last night I made Spaghetti Squash with Turkey Bacon, Spinach, and Goat Cheese. It was a perfect family night dish and everyone LOVED it! Healthier than pasta, and I didn’t even miss my favorite starchy carb! This recipe was fairly easy, but be warned: give yourself A LOT of time to prep it. I know it says it takes 30 minutes to bake, but when you get spaghetti squash, it is a MONSTER to cut. My arm muscles that I’ve been strengthening over the past couple of weeks with the upper fix workout through Beachbody could barely make it through cutting the squash. The recipe recommends cutting the squash into rings and then roasting, but I just cut it in half, microwaved it for 5 minutes, then roasted it and it turned out fine. The original recipe also uses bacon, but since that’s not approved on the 21 Day Fix diet, I substituted it with turkey bacon (which is approved). You could also sub out the goat cheese for another type of cheese you like. Goat cheese is my favorite cheese, but I know many people who don’t like it, so swap it out if you need/want to! Other than difficulty cutting the squash, this was a great, simple, tasty recipe that everyone will enjoy. Here’s the recipe from a Buzzfeed employee (I love Buzzfeed): https://www.buzzfeed.com/christinebyrne/spaghetti-squash-with-bacon-spinach-and-goat-cheese?utm_term=.drKy6My8g4#.ieMaBAaxjJ

Dessert: Finally, dessert. Everyone needs a little sweetness in their life, right? I found these approved 21 Day Fix Pumpkin Pie Bites and they are SO GOOD! They’re also vegan, so great for anyone who has allergies or follows a vegetarian/vegan diet! They were created by Autumn Calabrese, one of the founders of 21 Day Fix. She also has a cookbook, FixATE (which I need to buy ASAP). I would definitely recommend these to anyone who is trying to eat healthier, has a strict diet and/or allergies, and wants to cut out table and refined sugars from their diet! Here’s the recipe: http://autumncalabrese.com/blogs/pumpkin-pie-bites

All in all, every single recipe I tried was delicious, easy to make, and healthy. If you’re having trouble getting your veggies into your every day diet, pumpkin and squash will definitely make it easier and are versatile, as you can undoubtedly see. I’ve learned that veggies are your friend, and sometimes when you’re craving something crunchy, you don’t need to reach for salty potato chips or M&M’s. Sometimes you just need carrots with hummus or celery with peanut butter. I’ve learned that even though it’s hard to get in 5 servings of veggies a day, it’s totally doable and something you should strive for so you can reach optimal health (or just to a road of healthier habits)! I hope that you try out all of these recipes (or at least just one) because they can help you on your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

img_3219
Pumpkin Spice Overnight Oats
img_3220
Spaghetti Squash
img_3221
Spaghetti Squash in Pan
img_3222
Spaghetti Squash Close Up
img_3225
Pumpkin Pite Bites
img_3230
Pumpkin Pie Shake

Leave a Reply

