(Wo)Man’s Best Friend

Guess what today is? That’s right, it’s my best friend’s birthday! My best friend is a 13 year old Cavalier King Charles Spaniel named Kelly. Sorry to all of my human best friends, the truth is the truth. Anyways, for Kelly’s birthday, I made these Peanut Butter Dog Cookies that she absolutely LOVED. She eats pretty much anything, but she really liked these and she’s had a couple since it’s her birthday and she deserves it.

Here’s the recipe from blogger Rachael Miner of The Simple Life blog: http://simplificlife.blogspot.com/2013/11/ridiculously-easy-peanut-butter-dog.html If you get a chance, definitely check out Rachael’s blog! She’s a dog lover just like me and has a great site.

Only 4 ingredients, don’t take too long to make, and are perfect for any dog occasion, such as your pooches birthday or the holidays. I didn’t have a dog bone cookie cutter (I need to invest in one ASAP), so I used letter cookie cutters to spell out Kelly and some hearts. I also constructed my own dog bones, I cut two small hearts and connected the points with a square joint piece. If you don’t have a certain cookie cutter, you can DIY like I did! Here’s my finished product. img_3313

As you can see, it makes A LOT of cookies. I’m storing the rest in an air tight container, but you could also put them in your dog’s cookie jar. Yes, when you love your dog as much as I do, you have a separate cookie jar for them.

Dogs are the best, if you don’t have a dog and have always thought of getting one, DO IT. It’s life changing. My family and I have had Kelly for the past 10 or so years, and she’s a great pet. Need someone to vent to but no humans are around? There’s a dog for that. Need a snuggle buddy? There’s a dog for that. Dogs have the potential to bring so much happiness into your world, and there are so many dogs in shelters that need a home. Kelly is from the SPCA in Oakland, CA; she’s found her permanent home with us here and we’ve loved having her as a family member for the past 10 years. Try to adopt a dog from a shelter or the pound; there are some great dogs like Kelly out there that need a loving home and family. And when you’ve brought them into your home, show them you love them by baking them up some homemade dog treats! And give them lots of hugs, obviously.

img_3329

Kelly is the best dog friend I could ever ask for, and I hope that this post inspires you to show as much love as possible to your dog or adopt a dog and to make them some dog treats. It’ll definitely liven up your happy and healthy adventure 🙂 ❤


One thought on “(Wo)Man’s Best Friend

Leave a Reply

