My Week in Oats

This week I decided to make my own overnight oats creations. No recipes, no inspiration from Pinterest, not someone else’s work. These 4 overnight oat recipes I’m about to share are my own original recipes, inspired my my favorite desserts. Maybe you’ll see similar ones on the internet, but I promise I came up with these by myself. Do you have a favorite dessert that you would like to see made into an overnight oats recipe? Comment below and I’ll let you know when I try it out! All of these recipes have rolled (old fashioned) oats, milk, honey, chia seeds, vanilla extract, and plain Greek yogurt. Because of this, these ingredients won’t be listed underneath each recipe. After all of the recipes, I have some more insight, so don’t just stop here and/or at the recipes!

Monday: PB&J Oats

IMG_3282 2.JPG

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

  • Pureed strawberries (you can use pre-made jelly, jam, or preserves; or a puree of whichever fruit you like in your PB&J)
  • Peanut butter (mixed into the yogurt)
  • Ingredients listed above in opening paragraph

Assembly:

Start with a layer of the oats mixture (oats, milk, vanilla, honey, chia seeds) on the bottom. Then, top with a few spoonfuls of the PB yogurt mixture. Top with the pureed strawberries (or jelly, jam, preserves, other pureed fruit). You can either continue like this until you reach the top of the jar. I prefer to place all of my oats on the bottom and layer the other 2 mixtures until the top. It’s up to you though, as these recipes are flexible in their ingredients and assembly!

Tuesday: Banana Split Sundae Oats

IMG_3290.JPG

Ingredients:

  • List in opening paragraph
  • Cocoa powder
  • Dark chocolate chips
  • Sliced Strawberries
  • Sliced Bananas
  • Crushed or cubed pineapple (in a can)
  • Unsweetened shredded coconut

Assembly:

Mixed the cocoa powder in with the oats mixture. Put a layer on the bottom of your jar. Mix the chocolate chips and coconut into the yogurt, place on top of oats. Layer sliced strawberries, then sliced banana. Add another layer of oats and yogurt. Top with crushed pineapple and a sprinkle of coconut on top.

Wednesday: Apple Pie Oats

IMG_3295.JPG

Ingredients:

  • Diced Gala apples (or any apples you like)
  • Cinnamon
  • Coconut sugar (or another sugar, but this is a healthier sugar)

Assembly:

Mix oat mixture and yogurt together. Start with a layer of that mixture. Then, mix the apples with a couple pinches of both cinnamon and coconut sugar. Place on top and continue layering to the top of the jar.

Thursday: Chocolate Raspberry Linzer Torte Oats

IMG_3299.JPG

Ingredients:

  • Raspberries
  • Nutella
  • Sliced almonds
  • Chopped hazelnuts

Assembly:

Start with oats, then layer with yogurt, raspberries, sprinkle of both almonds and hazelnuts, and spoonful of Nutella. Continue this layer pattern until jar is full.

 

I don’t have an overnight oats recipe for Friday. I take a long time to make these, and I was just too tired to make an oats recipe for Friday. I ended up having a shake as my breakfast instead of oats. But, I hope there are enough recipes here and you’ll give them a try! My favorite of these 4 original recipes was the Banana Split Sundae Oats. It was almost like dessert for breakfast (and I’m not going to complain about that) but it also had the most fruit in it. Despite it being the most complex recipe, it was totally worth it! If you need a new fix for a quick and easy breakfast, I hope you’ll give my original overnight oats recipes a try! As I mentioned, if you try one of my recipes and/or if you have an idea for an overnight oats recipe you’d like me to try recreating, comment on this post! I hope my new recipes and overnight oats are one gateway to your happy and healthy adventure as they have been for me. 🙂 ❤

 

 


Leave a Reply

