2 More Squash Recipes!

Today I cooked up 2 more squash recipes: Lemon Chicken Thighs with Butternut Squash and Brussel Sprouts AND Chocolate Pumpkin Brownies. You can see that I’m enjoying my brownie in my picture. Both are delicious and relatively easy to make. These recipes are both from Pinterest and 2 individuals blogs; please check out their blogs!

Lemon Chicken Thighs with Butternut Squash and Brussel Sprouts Recipe

Link: http://damndelicious.net/2016/03/27/one-pan-lemon-chicken-with-butternut-squash-and-brussels-sprouts/

A few pointers on this recipe:

  • The recipe calls for chicken breasts, I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I find them to be juicier and more flavorful than the breasts, and better for baking. However, since thighs tend to be thicker than breasts, it does take more time to cook them (45-50 minutes for thighs, 25-30 minutes for breasts). Whichever you choose, it will be delicious!
  • Make sure to salt and pepper your squash and sprouts! I forgot (oops) and they tasted okay, but probably not as good as if I had remembered the S&P (the recipe also says to do this).
  • I recommend cutting your sprouts in half. I left mine whole, and they were a bit hard to chew even though they were fully cooked. If cut in half, they would have been more tender I think. Also, peel off the first few outer leaves of each sprout, they will be more clean that way.
  • Look for already cut butternut squash at your grocery store! Huge time saver.

Overall, delicious recipe that will become a family favorite! It’s also healthy (I didn’t use butter), so it can be a guilt free dinner. Thanks Damn Delicious for the recipe!

For dessert, I made these chocolate pumpkin brownies from Pinterest. Since I’m obsessed with everything pumpkin and have been craving dessert/chocolate, I figured I’d give these a try. They’re delicious, but not like your typical brownie. They’re more dense and definitely not as sugary. But don’t count it out because it’s a 21 Day Fix approved brownie, because they’re tasty!

Chocolate Pumpkin Brownies

Link: http://happyhealthymotivated.com/one-bowl-healthy-pumpkin-brownies/

Another great blog with a similar name to mine! Nicola’s blog features many simple and healthy recipes (and also workouts!) so I would encourage you to look at her blog!

img_3355

A few pointers for this recipe:

  • You can swap the all purpose flour and granulated sugar for coconut flour and coconut sugar if you want to make these even healthier than they already are. That’s what I did and they still tasted great despite my alternatives!
  • Make sure to not over beat your batter. I think this resulted in my slightly denser brownie (could have been my choice of flour and sugar though too).
  • Keep them in an air tight container and if you don’t want others eating them, hide them! They are so good that all of your family members will want to eat them!

 

I hope you all consider giving both of these recipes a try! They are recipes that feature great produce that are perfect for fall and your family. Enjoy these on your happy and healthy adventure! 🙂 ❤

img_3356

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

