Paying It Forward

Today I was in Starbucks after picking up my badge at the Kids’ Country office in Downtown Danville. In my post about National Coffee Day, I wrote and promised myself that during my next visit to Starbucks, I would pay for someone else’s coffee. It didn’t matter what walk of life they came from or what they ordered, but I would pay for their order, no questions asked. Today, I paid for someone else’s coffee, and the feeling I got afterwards was immensely wonderful.

While I was waiting in line and deciding what I wanted to drink, a mom and her young son walked in and lined up behind me. I had been thinking about this “paying it forward” task I had given myself, and thought this would be a perfect opportunity. I walked up to the cashier and ordered my drink. The barista asked “Anything else?,” and I turned to my right where the mother and son were standing and said, “I’d like to pay for this mother and her son today.” The mother looked at me and said, “Oh no, you shouldn’t have! That is so nice of you, this has never happened to me before! My son broke his arm yesterday, it’s just been a bad day.” She profusely thanked me over and over again, and I couldn’t help but feel happy that I was able to help someone in a small way by paying for their coffee. I felt my heart swell with happiness in knowing that I did something good, and for no other benefit then receiving the joy of helping someone out and paying it forward.

I’m a very social person, and I told the mom that I was happy to pay for her and her son. She seemed overwhelmed by a stranger’s kindness, but very grateful. I asked her how her son (not with her at Starbucks) broke his arm, and we got to talking about that. I shared my story of how a couple years ago I broke my arm, and it wasn’t fun and it was a tough time for me, but I got through it. I think she took solace in knowing that I understood what it was like to break an arm and how rough it could be. I can’t imagine how it must have been for her though, as a mother. To see your child get hurt and have to go through the process of getting a cast and a couple months of healing. Paying for her morning cup of coffee and her son’s apple juice box was the least I could do to help her out and brighten her day. It brightened my day too.

We should all try to pay it forward in some way or another, it honestly feels really good to do so and it makes a difference in someone’s day, whether you realize it or not. I know I made this woman’s day better by simply buying her coffee, but what she may not know is that buying her coffee made my day better too. It made me happy to act compassionately and appreciate everything that I have and everything others do to make my life just that much better. She probably doesn’t know that I felt so much better about myself and the impact I can make on someone’s life just by paying for her cup of joe. I challenge all of you to pay it forward sometime this week, because it will just be one small step that’s part of your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤


2 thoughts on “Paying It Forward

Leave a Reply

