Sharing The Word

Generally, I always find something of value in every piece of scripture I read or hear at mass. Usually, it’s the gospel reading or the homily that I find most interesting and get something out of. But today, the second reading was the most enlightening to me.

2 Timothy 3:14-4:2

But continue thou in the things which thou hast learned and hast been assured of, knowing of whom thou hast learned them;/ And that from a child thou hast known the holy scriptures, which are able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus./All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:/That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works./I charge thee therefore before God, and the Lord Jesus Christ, who shall judge the quick and the dead at his appearing and his kingdom;/Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all long-suffering and doctrine.

 

This is a long-ish Scripture passage, and even though every line is important for a full understanding, I want to discuss my thoughts on line 4:2.

Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all long-suffering and doctrine.

This line, as I understand it, is saying that regardless of the time of year, we as Christians should be preaching the word (or at least the ideas of the word). We should be talking about The Word with each other and with others. I could be totally wrong on this, but the takeaway for me from this reading is that we need to share The Word and what we have learned from it with each other as Christians, and with all of those outside of the faith as well. We need to continue practicing Christianity and really embrace the words and messages of the Bible, because they will make for richer lives.

Maybe you’re thinking, “I don’t have time to sit and read the Bible! I’m not interested in reading The Word! I’m not confident enough to discuss with others and preach The Word!” Totally okay. I’m not saying you have to do any of those things. I get it, we all lead busy lives. I have some ideas that will allow you to practice your faith, even if you’re in a hurry and are a busy person. Hopefully you’ll read through the list, but if not, I hope you’ve gained something from this post. Practicing religion and having a strong faith life has been a huge factor in my happy and healthy adventure, and it can be a part of yours too if you let Him in. 🙂 ❤

Ways to practice living your faith: 

  1. Pray for 1 minute. Then, when you have more time or are more comfortable with praying, increase the time. I can guarantee you have one minute to pray somewhere within your day. It can be during your commute, while you’re eating lunch, or right before bed. It can be for anything too. Maybe you’re nervous about an upcoming event, pray for peace of mind and confidence. Maybe someone close to you passed away. Pray for their soul in heaven and help during your grieving. There’s a number of different things you can pray for. If you’re not a religiously devout, don’t think that your prayer means any less than someone who is! All prayers will be answered. If you’re not religious or maybe you’ve strayed from the faith, just think of it as a wish and help will come your way.
  2. Get an app that automatically notifies you with a psalm, Bible verse, etc. There are lots of apps out there, but one that I just recently started using is Word Alert (maroon background with white book icon). It’s a very simple app, you set it to send you a Bible verse at a certain time. I have mine set for right when I wake up, so I can jumpstart my day and go into my day with a positive mindset. If you want to start praying the Rosary or want an mobile version of the Bible, I would recommend Laudate (yellow background with black Dominican cross icon). It has an interactive Rosary, the Bible, and a variety of prayers on it.
  3. Read the Bible a little at a time. Maybe you’re a slow reader, or just don’t have a lot of time to read! Whatever the reason, break it into chunks. Many Bibles have a glossary of “Where to find it,” which lists some troubles you may be facing and a verse that can be comforting for that specific problem.
  4. Find a community/stay connected. Find a group that shares your religious background, and see if they have a Bible study that you can join. Find friends that will practice the faith by your side, there’s strength in numbers.

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

