My Non-Negotiables

If you’re not familiar with non-negotiables, it’s essentially a list of tasks/to-dos that need to get done; no ifs, ands, or buts. Anyone can make a non-negotiables list, and it can have any variety of tasks on it. All of my tasks are personal ones, and are divided up into daily and weekly tasks. You could create one of these lists for your business, work, health and fitness, etc.

I heard about non-negotiables lists when I first started bullet journaling. If you haven’t heard of bullet journaling; it’s a planner, diary, and to-do list all in one. It’s great for anyone who wants to be super organized and leads a busy life. They can be as simple or as artistic and crafty as you want them to be. In your bullet journal, you can include your non-negotiables list. Or, you can create one outside of a journal.

It’s nice to keep this list on hand. It’s a good way to remind yourself of your to-dos/goals that you want to accomplish. Every day we should be working towards a goal, whether it be big or small. I’m going to share my non-negotiables list with everyone so you can have an idea of what can be included on one and so you can start your own if you don’t know where to begin. You can always add or take away from your list, especially if you’ve overloaded yourself and it just increases your stress level.

Daily: 

  • Workout (30 minutes minimum)
  • Read (15 minutes minimum)
  • Color/craft/art (15 minutes minimum)
  • Blog post and/or journal
  • Prayer and/or meditation (15 mins. min.)
  • Lay out next day’s outfit
  • Fill out tracker

Weekly:

  • Change pillowcases and pajamas (every 4 days)
  • Change sheets and towels
  • Swiffer, windex appliances, house chores
  • Vacuum and declutter room
  • Laundry
  • Set up tracker and planner layouts
  • Cook dinner and/or bake

Some of these may seem strange to you or may not be things you want to do. Everyone’s non-negotiables lists will look a little different. But these are the tasks that I like to accomplish each day or week. Once I complete a task, I feel closer to the bigger goal that these small accomplishments will get me to.

One important thing: Don’t beat yourself up if you don’t get a task done! I definitely struggled with this when I first created my list. Same goes with my tracker (I’ll do another post another time about trackers). I would be tempted to erase my list or tear it out of my bullet journal and toss it. I would think lesser of myself only because I didn’t complete one task. I realized that I created my list and tracker to propel me towards my bigger goals. It’s not something to judge your worth by, it’s something to keep you organized and get you to your goals. Life is full of unexpected twists and turns. If you don’t get a workout in, or you don’t do your laundry, or whatever other task it is, don’t sweat it! Do it the next day, or at least forgive yourself and move on.

I would recommend that everyone at least try making a non-negotiables list. It doesn’t need to be long or complex. It can have as few or as many tasks on it as you want. Make it manageable for you, but also push yourself a little bit. A non-negotiables list can definitely be a part of your happy and healthy adventure, and in my opinion, it definitely should be. 🙂 ❤


Leave a Reply

