EAT PRAY LOVE: Part 1 Quotes

While I was traveling in Boston, I finished EAT PRAY LOVE by Elizabeth Gilbert. There were so many inspirational tidbits in there that I decided to read it a second time to go over those pieces and reflect and really think about them. I enjoyed this book so much that I now want to share some quotes from the book that spoke to and resonated with me. This post just covers one part of this book (it’s broken up into 3 sections: Italy, India, and Indonesia), and I am going to post about this book 3 different times. I hope you’ll gain some wisdom from the selected quotes, pick up a copy of this book, and fully read it because it could be a helpful tool to have on your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

“…God does not live in a dogmatic scripture or in a distant throne in the sky, but instead abides very close to us indeed — much closer than we can imagine, breathing right through our own hearts. […] God is an experience of supreme love” (14).

“I am not an expert at praying, as you know. But can you please help me? I am in desperate need of help. I don’t know what to do. I need an answer. Please tell me what to do” (15).

“True wisdom gives the only possible answer at any given moment” (16).

“God never slams a door in your face without opening a box of Girl Scout cookies (or however the old adage goes)” (22).

“I want to learn how to live in this world and enjoy its delights, but also devote myself to God” (27).

“But you must stop looking at the world through your head. You must look through your heart, instead. That way, you will know God” (27).

“I wanted worldly enjoyment and divine transcendence […] the singular balance of the good and the beautiful” (29).

“God might want me to be facing that particular challenge for a reason” (32).

“…it sometimes takes you a while to realize that you are lost” (48).

“Experience teaches us that the world is no nursery. […] But the very fact that this world is so challenging is exactly why you sometimes must reach out of its jurisdiction for help, appealing to a higher authority in order to find your comfort” (53).

“It is merely this world that is chaotic, bringing changes to us all that nobody could have anticipated” (75).

“One must always be prepared for riotous and endless waves of transformation” (75).

“It is better to live your own destiny imperfectly than to live an imitation of somebody else’s life with perfection” (95).

“…when you sense a faint potentiality for happiness after such dark times you must grab onto the ankles of that happiness and not let go… You were given life; it is your duty to find something beautiful within life, no matter how slight” (115).

 

 


Leave a Reply

