What a Week and Happy Friday!

This week, I started a new job and my 3rd round of the 21 Day Fix! It has been a hectic but enjoyable and productive week. I hope everyone had a wonderful week and that each and every reader is enjoying their happy and healthy adventure just like me! 🙂 ❤

Monday: Day 1

I started my new job as a Special Education Paraeducator and I loved every minute of it! I spent my day with 1-3 grade in the Special Day Class (SDC), and they are such a blast to work with! They had PE (we had to do the “Crazy Bird” exercise where you run down the basketball court while doing large arm circles), and I have to admit that it was kinda hard for me. I got to meet all of the kids that I would be working with for the week, and each and every one brightens my day in a different way. I also have a very kind head teacher to guide me along and other paras to assist me.

This was also the first day of my third round of the 21 Day Fix. I’ve done two rounds before; one with a coach and one independently. One of my closest friends texted me the weekend before the group was about to start and asked me if I wanted to join. At first I was hesitant (with the holidays and all) but then I realized that I want to make healthy decisions and lead a healthier lifestyle. I figure if I get back into healthy habits now, I can transition them into the new year. So I said yes! I had to change my whole morning routine because I work 8am-6pm now. I wake up at 6 every morning and throw on my workout gear and get my 30 minute workout done. Today’s was Total Body Cardio, and since I haven’t done a challenging workout in a while, this was a tough one. But I got through it and felt pretty good about myself! Then, each member of our accountability group checks in via Facebook to update everyone on how our workout went and to complete an assignment, which was sharing about yourself.

Tuesday: Day 2

The speech teacher came into the SDC (which is what I want to do in the near future!) to do a fun activity with us. It was great for me to see a speech therapist in action at the school so I could get an idea of what I would be doing in the future.

After I completed my workout (Upper Fix), I logged onto Facebook and our coach had uploaded a bingo board with a different assignment/activity in each square. We get to pick which squares we complete, so I decided to plank for as long as I could after my workout. For my meals, since I eat breakfast, lunch, and two snacks while working; I pack the night before and pop my food into my lunchbox in the morning. It’s a great system that works for me and allows me to stay on top of my nutrition for this program.

Wednesday: Day 3

I was sent up to the older students SDC; this was a completely different experience than I had with the younger students. Not only were there many more students in this class, but the atmosphere was totally different too. Each one made my hump day a good day and they each put a smile on my face too, even when they did have their difficulties. I also got to meet more of the staff which was great too.

I shared my meal prep trick of buying a large veggie platter and a bin of spinach and all of the different ways these two items could be used.

Thursday: Day 4

I was asked to stand in at lunch and recess duty and it was hectic! The MPR (lunch room) was so loud and packed with kids. On top of this, it was a rainy day recess, so all of the students had so much energy! I had to run back and forth from the MPR to classrooms which was madness! It was also kind of fun, since I got to see and say hello to some of my Kids Country students.

I decided to perform a random act of kindness as my assignment for the day. I enjoyed my first few days as a special education para so much and had such great staff guiding me along the way, that I brought them each a cake pop. I also gave cake pops to the head teachers in my class at Kids Country for showing me the ropes the past couple of months and making me feel welcome.

Friday: Day 5

I was back in the younger kids classroom and it was a fun, crazy day filled with a dance party, a movie, 2 PEs, and the Friday store where they get to buy a fun toy with the paper money. It was a great way to end the week!

I shared something I’m proud of with my accountability group, which is my blog! I don’t think I need to say to much about it to my readers. TGIF!

 


Leave a Reply

