Quotes from Michelle Obama: A Life

I recently just finished Michelle Obama: A Life; an biography by Peter Slevin. Since a new president will be inaugurated this month, I wanted to read up on our past president’s First Lady. I’ve always found her inspirational, especially her speeches and how she pushes education for girls and women and fitness and nutrition for children. I wanted to know more about Mrs. Obama, so I decided to read this book. This is definitely an interesting and informational read; I encourage everyone to pick up a copy. Here are some quotes that I found moving from the book. Reading is an important part of my happy and healthy adventure, hopefully you can make it part of yours too. 😊❤

“Maybe you feel like no one has your back, like you’ve been let down by people so many times that you’ve stopped believing in yourself. Maybe you feel like your destiny was written the day you were born and you ought to just rein in your hopes and scale back your dreams. But if any of you are thinking that way, I’m here to tell you: Stop it” (4).

“‘You can’t just sit around,’ she instructed. ‘Don’t expect anybody to come and hand you anything. It doesn’t work that way'”(6).

“If you are committed to doing what it takes, anything is possible. It’s up to you” (6).

“‘It’s not what you do, it’s how you do it.”It’s not what you say, it’s how you say it'” (20).

“Just do what you’re supposed to do when you’re interacting with people. Treat all people alike. Don’t misuse them. That’s God’s will” (20).

“‘If it can be done, you can do it,’ ‘It’s a matter of choice'” (26).

“No one can make you feel bad, they said, if your values are solid and you feel good about yourself” (49).

“In many ways, we are here for the ride, just sort of seeing what opportunities open themselves up” (162).

“‘Don’t sweat the small stuff. Get up. Get over it'” (182).

“‘To tell you the truth, I was scared. I was worried that I’d say the wrong thing. I was nervous that someone might ask a question that I didn’t know the answer to. And I have a tendency to do that thing a lot of women do, where you get 99 things right, but then you stress and beat yourself up over the one thing you mess up'” (202).

“I just realized that having some kind of support around, whether it was my mom or a set of friends, was essential to keeping me whole and not so angry or frustrated” (209).

“… taught me to work hard, dream big and then bring my blessings and my knowledge back to my community” (214).

“‘It isn’t just about hope and inspiration. It is about character, quite frankly'” (220).

“‘So, you can’t make decisions based on fear and the possibility of what might happen'” (238).

“‘ I ran into people in my life who told me, ‘You can’t do it, you’re not as smart as that person.’ And that never stopped me. That always made me push harder, because I was like, I’m going to prove you wrong'” (256).

“…defines style as knowing who you are and being unafraid to show it to the world” (277).

“‘You have to change attitudes before you can change behavior'” (291).

“‘We recognize our own mortality and we are reminded that in the fleeting time we have on this earth, what matters is not wealth or status or power or fame. But, rather, how well we have loved and what small part we have played in making the lives of other people better. And that process of reflection, of making sure we align our values with our actions…'”(298).

“‘about the values we hold dear, about finding hope at a time when it seems far away.’ And, too, ways of  ‘assuming the best, rather than the worst, about those around us'”(300).

“The legacy of Jesus Christ, she said, summons people to do as he did, ‘fighting injustice and speaking truth to power every single day. He was out there spreading a message of grace and redemption to the least, the last and the lost. And our charge is to find Him everywhere, every day, by how we live our lives'”(317).

“Helping others is more important than getting ahead yourself and ‘success doesn’t count unless you earn it fair and square”(320).

“‘When you’ve worked hard and done well and walked through the doorway of opportunity, you do not slam it shut behind you. No. You reach back, and you give other folks the same chances that helped you succeed'”(320).

“‘You will get your butts kicked sometimes and you will be disappointed. And you will be knocked down, and you have to get back up. There will be people hating on you…Can you handle that? As you improve your lives, are you going to be afraid? Are you going to bed afraid, and then retreat back into what’s comfortable?'” (332).

“…if we stayed true to who we are, then the world would embrace us” (346).


Leave a Reply

