A Day In The City

It’s so nice living a short BART ride away from the city of San Francisco. My family and I do day trips there often, and with the three day weekend and my sister being home from college for break, we thought today would be a great day to go for a visit. Day trips to nearby cities can really add some spontaneity to your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

Here are some pictures from today’s trip!

img_4109

Inside Mr. Holmes Bakeshop

This place is super popular, so you have to get there early! When we arrived, they only had about a dozen doughnuts left and one chocolate chip cookie. We got four chocolate doughnuts and the cookie, and will be feasting on those for breakfast tomorrow.

Inside Grace Cathedral

I love the inside of churches, but especially stain glass windows. I have a thing for stain glass windows. I like how the light shines through the glass and the colors reflect onto the white pillars.

Views of Alcatraz Island (zoomed in) and of Alcatraz and the greater city area

As we were walking from Grace Cathedral to North Beach, we walked into a park on a hill top and got amazing views of Alcatraz.

Food at The Stinking Rose

In North Beach, we dined on fare at The Stinking Rose. Did you know “stinking rose” is another name for garlic!? Neither did I, until I ate here. I guess it makes sense. The food was DELICIOUS. On the left is roasted garlic in olive oil with a bit of anchovy. You can spread it on bread, but we were just eating in plain out of the little saute pan it was served in, it was THAT GOOD. On the right is gnocchi with creamy gorgonzola sauce. This was also delicious, and I was ridiculously full afterwards. If you like garlic, definitely go visit The Stinking Rose, because you’ll be in heaven if you do.

I hope you enjoyed my photos from today’s visit to San Francisco, and make a trip there yourself some day!


Leave a Reply

