I AM THAT GIRL: Chapter 8

Chapter 8 of I AM THAT GIRL by Alexis Jones is entitled “Be Of Service.” Essentially, Alexis is calling us to do things outside of ourself that empower others that simultaneously empower us. I enjoyed this chapter because I found it applicable to my current life. I’m not working in the field of education because I’ll make lots of money doing it (on the contrary). I’m an educator because I enjoy working with the children and empowering them to work hard and inspiring them to be great students and the best version of themselves they can be. Which in turn reminds me to work hard, inspire, and be my best version of me. I learned so much from this book, and I know you could learn a lot from it that you could apply to your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

Some quotes from this chapter:

“We’re not on our journey to save the world but to save ourselves. But in doing that you save the world. The influence of a vital person vitalizes” (Joseph Campbell, 225).

“There is nothing in this world more beauty-full than a human being who knows her worth and is comfortable in her own skin. Authentic confidence is when you know who you are and what you stand for” (225).

“To be “that girl” just means you’re going to give life your best shot, that you’re not going to make excuses or justifications, that you’re going to go for it, whatever that means for you. It also means you’re going to be an example of true beauty in the world and encourage the same for all the other women in your life. Being “that girl” means you are a constant work in progress…” (226).

These next two quotes are from the author’s mother (Claudia Mann):

“Remember that you are human. You will make mistakes. Do not let them define you” (230).

“Love,love,love. Love yourself, love your family and friends, love life and the many blessings it bestows upon you. Be thankful each and every day” (231).

Moms are some of the most influential and inspirational people on the planet. Alexis talks about how her mom is her hero. My mom is a huge motivator, my supporter, and my role model. Moms say important stuff, so if you’re lucky enough to have your mom around in your life, make sure you listen to her!

“At the end of the day, we are the only ones responsible for our actions, and we need to stop looking outside ourselves for the change” (236).

“Be the first person and last person every day who supports you and loves you for who you are. After all, why should anyone else do it if you don’t?” (239)

“How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world” (Anne Frank, 241).

“I just want you to feel comfortable and confident in your skin, to author your life according to your expectations, and delete the word impossible from your vocabulary” (245).

“Knowing who you are, what you stand for, searching for your purpose, discovering it, and pursuing it creates and inspired life worthy of you waking up each day”(248).

“The world needs you to be awesome. So take a deep breath and go for it” (248).

“I need you, you need you, the world needs you, we all need you to be the most bada** version of yourself, so find her and remind her to shine with all her might, every single day” (249).

 


Leave a Reply

