Why I’m Sharing on Social Media

If you’re my Facebook friend or one of my blog followers, you’ve probably noticed that I share about many aspects of my life through social media. I post about everything from my health and fitness journey to travel and everything in between. One of my “why’s” for sharing on social media is because I simply enjoy doing it. Another is that I’ve read from many studies that people who post about their health and fitness journey have more success than those who don’t. However, neither of those are my most important “why,” and I want to share my most important why with all of you, because sharing is a big part of my happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

At the school where I was working as a special education paraeducator for the past 2 months, they had an assembly for the students called: “Soul Shoppe.” Each “Soul Shoppe” assembly has a different theme, and the theme of this one (at least I think) was “You are ___.” They were all statements, such as “You are smart” and “You have what it takes,” which were reminders for the students to put into practice everyday, especially when they come up against a challenge. You’re probably wondering why I’m mentioning this student assembly at all. The reason is because one of the statements was: “You are important.” This statement, I realized, was my “why” for blogging and sharing about my life journey with my FB friends, the blogosphere, and the world at large.

“You are important”

Each and every one of us on this planet is important. If you weren’t important, you wouldn’t exist. It’s as simple as that.

But it’s also not as simple as that. Yes, you are important, but how? Maybe you constantly wonder, why am I here? What is my purpose? But just know that you are important, and if you aren’t quite sure how or why, you’ll find out. You’ll find out your importance because you’re constantly evolving on your happy and healthy adventure.

So now you’re maybe thinking, this is all good and motivational, Bridget, but what does this have to do with you posting about all aspects of your life online? Well, not only are you important, but what you have to say is important too. And this is how the workshop leader related this statement to the students. When you have something to say, raise your hand and ask or comment, even if you don’t think it’s important or the smartest question or answer ever. It is important. It’s important to you, and that’s reason enough. It’s important to your teachers, because they want you to succeed and what you say can help you be successful. It helps your fellow classmates because it will inspire them to ask their questions or share their answers in the future, or they might have been too afraid to ask themselves even if the same thought was going through their mind.

I share because not only am I important, but so are my thoughts. Even if they are only important to me, that’s reason enough to share. What I have to say is valuable, and it can affect just one person, one hundred people, one thousand people, and beyond. I share because what I have to say can influence others, can inspire others, can help others. I share because my ideas are important. I share because I am important. I share because I want you to know you are important. The takeaway?

“You are important”

And nothing is going to change that while you’re on your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

 


Leave a Reply

