YAB: Chapters 4 & 5

Chapters 4 & 5 of YAB are entitled “The Big Snooze” and “Self-Perception is a Zoo.”

The Big Snooze is another name for your ego. Jen says that your ego is like a big snooze because the “leading cause of sucking” is not realizing how wonderful you are as a person or how great our world is.

Here’s my favorite quotes from Chapter 4:

“Wanting to be someone else is a waste of the person you are” (Kurt Cobain, 41).

YOU were put on this planet for a reason, to fulfill a purpose. You were NOT put on earth to imitate someone else or dreaming that you could be like someone else. You are the way you are because it’s the way you were meant to be. So realize that!

“Your true self or your higher self or your superhero self (your non-BS self), on the other hand, is the part of you that operates according to your connection to Source Energy (God). It gets validation from within (I love and trust myself, this feels right to me, I have a purpose, I am loved), it’s proactive (I’m in control of my life, I think I’ll head on out and kick me some ass), love-based, and is committed to creating a reality based on your limitless potential-as soon as you wake up from the Big Snooze. Your true self lives in the present (not stuck in your head), totally believes in miracles and is one with the Universe” (41-42).

Does this sound awesome or what?

“…seek out those who are already totally kicking butt (or who are lifting up their foot to do so), or people who you know will be supportive, and confide in them” (44).

My list of people that I confide in were mentioned in my I AM THAT GIRL post a couple weeks ago on the chapter regarding mentors. Find those people in your life, because you’ll benefit from them so much!

“If you want to take control of your life and turn it into something as spectacularly “you” as have the people I described above, stop at nothing. Have faith” (47).

Don’t let life take you on a whirlwind ride-at least, not completely. Live your live wonderfully, and if you’re still working towards it, then KEEP GOING! Don’t stop until you get to where you want to be in life, and remember to always believe that you’ll get there.

Chapter 5

When Jen describes self-perception as a zoo, she’s saying that it’s crazy and wild. How we perceive ourselves drives us nutty, especially when we perceive ourselves in unkind ways. There’s one quote from the chapter that resonated with me:

“You’re on a journey with no defined beginning, middle or end. There are no wrong twists and turns. There is just being. And your job is to be as you as you can be. This is why you’re here. To shy away from who you truly are would leave the world you-less. You are the only you there is an ever will be” (50).

When I talk about you on your happy and healthy adventure, this is how I picture you living your adventure! You’ll always be adventuring and on a journey, because that’s what life is. The twists and turns are inevitable and they happen because they are meant to happen according to God’s plan for you. You were created the way you are because that’s how you were meant to be. You exist because God believed you should, and He wants you to be your authentic self. The world needs each and every one of us. Remember that.

You do you and live a happy and healthy adventure! You’ll be glad you did. 🙂 ❤


Leave a Reply

