YAB: Chapter 6

Chapter 6 is entitled “Love The One You Is” and I’m giving the chapter it’s own blog post because there were SO MANY great quotes that came out of it! The whole chapter is about loving yourself for who you are, regardless of your mistakes and flaws. You should love yourself because there’s ONLY ONE YOU and you make a difference in so many people’s lives. Loving yourself is one of the most important parts of your happy and healthy adventure, so always remember that. 🙂 ❤

Here are the selected quotes from Chapter 6:

“If we really love ourselves, everything in our life works” (Louise Hay, 52).

Loving yourself for who you are NO MATTER WHAT is so important to your well-being. It allows you to realize that God has a plan for you and everything will go accordingly.

“I’m talking about loving ourselves enough to let go of guilt, resentment, and criticism and embrace compassion, joy, and gratitude” (54).

This is something I definitely struggle with, as I’m sure many people do! I tend to hold onto situations that didn’t go well or how I thought they would/should go but didn’t, and criticize myself like no other. We have to treat ourselves with love and love ourselves; be compassionate when we’re in a tough spot and telling ourselves that it WILL be okay, try to be joyful daily, and be GRATEFUL for what we do have.

“There will never be anyone exactly like you. You were given special gifts and talents to share with the world, and even though everybody has special gifts and talents, nobody will use theirs quite the same way you do” (55).

Keep that in mind: there will never be anyone EXACTLY like you. You will combine your skills and talents, your personality traits and passions in a different way than someone else who is similar to you. Take PRIDE in yourself and your skills, talents, personal qualities, passions; and how you bring them into the world.

“The more emotion you feel around what you’re saying, the more power it will have to bring about positive change” (56).

This is in regards to affirmations. I struggle with this too: I make great affirmations for myself, but if I’m feeling really down in the dumps, it’s hard to me to BELIEVE in my affirmations. So try to feel the emotion within your affirmations and TRULY BELIEVE in them.

“When you constantly deny yourself the people, food, things, and experiences that make you feel the most alive, that sends a pretty lousy message home” (56).

Don’t deprive yourself completely of things you love. I saw this on Pinterest today, and it goes perfectly with this quote. It’s fitness and health related, but I think it sends the message of Jen’s quote home.

screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-7-52-00-pm

“It’s about being proactive about creating a life you love instead of meekly living the one you think you’re stuck with” (57).

If you want to see a change in your life because you don’t enjoy it currently, you have to WORK to make a change. You can just sit on the sidelines hoping for your life to change. You also have to believe that you can improve your life and that you don’t have to live the one you’re in currently.

“What you tell yourself on a daily basis is more powerful than you know. Our thoughts become ours words, our words become our beliefs, our beliefs become our actions, our actions become our habits, and our habits become our realities” (59-60).

Say kind things to yourself (like affirmations!) instead of negative things, because it’s the start of everything.

“The better our bodies feel, the happier and more productive we are” (60).

This is one reason I do Beachbody programs! If you exercise and feed yourself well, you’ll feel better all around.

“Comparison is the fastest way to take all the fun out of life” (60).

It’s hard NOT to compare! But try to avoid it, because it’ll just get you down and you don’t deserve to feel like that!

“Holding on to my bad feelings about this is doing nothing but harming me, and everyone else, and preventing me from enjoying my life fully. I am an awesome person. I choose to enjoy my life. I choose to let this go” (62).

Just a great mantra to think about in your head when you’re struggling with something.

 


Leave a Reply

