YAB: Chapters 11 & 12

Hey everyone! I hope you’ve been enjoying my quotes and pointers from this book! A note before I dive into chapters 11 & 12: there is no post for chapters 9 & 10. They were both great chapters (one was on an encounter she had with an individual on a camping trip, the other was on meditation practices), but neither had quotes that really resonated with me that I wanted to share with all of you. But, if you want to know what’s in those chapters, pick up a copy of the book and read it as part of your personal development!

Anyways, getting back on topic! Chapter 11 is entitled “Your Brain Is Your B***h.” (I’m trying to not use cuss words on social media). It’s all about how you control your thoughts and how your thoughts are powerful and influence your actions.

Here are my selected quotes from this chapter:

“Our thoughts are the most powerful tools we’ve got” (93).

What a thought (pun intended)! Seriously though, what goes on in our heads and what we share can be incredibly impactful.

“Your thoughts and beliefs dictate your reality, so if you want to change your reality, you have to change your beliefs” (94).

If you want to get into grad school (like me!), you have to BELIEVE you can get there. Your beliefs and thoughts are powerful; you have to have POSITIVE ones that you really think can come true, otherwise you can’t change your reality.

“The moment you have the audacity to start believing in the not-yet seen, your reality will begin to shift” (94).

I love this quote not only because one of my favorite words is audacity, but also because it’s something I’m working on. You have to put yourself out there as far as believing goes, even when there’s no proof. Once you think like that, you’ll see change.

“Your job isn’t to know the how, it’s to know the what and to be open to discovering, and receiving, the how” (95).

What a concept! For me, this is relevant to my pursuit of attending graduate school and becoming a speech pathologist. I know what it is I want, but I don’t know the ENTIRE how. I know I have to apply to schools and have faith that I’ll get in. But I don’t know HOW I’m going to perform once in school, or how I’m going to get a job as an SLP, or how I can be a successful SLP. Be open-minded to how you’ll reach your goals.

“Put yourself in situations where you will meet people who can make this happen. Stay wide open to opportunities that can lead you to your goal” (97).

It’s all about going out and putting yourself out there. Find mentors and take up chances that come your way, because they will help you to reach your goals.

Chapter 12Β is entitled “Lead With Your Cro**h.” (I REALLY didn’t want to type the whole word). I only have one quote from this chapter, so here it is:

“The only thing you need to do is do the very best you can. Once you’ve done that, the only other thing that matters is that you enjoy yourself” (107).

Do your very best in life, and everything will work itself out. Remember to enjoy YOU for YOU on your happy and healthy adventure. πŸ™‚ ❀


Leave a Reply

