YAB: Chapters 17 & 18

Chapter 17: “It’s So Easy Once You Figure Out It Isn’t Hard”

This chapter is all about how you perceive your life and reality, and how you can achieve whatever it is you want to once you realize that everything isn’t as hard as it may seem.

Here’s my favorite quotes from this chapter:

“Our entire experience on this planet is determined by how we choose to perceive our reality” (138).

Your life is decided by how you choose to look at your reality. If you look at life as the glass half-empty, that’s how your life will be. If you decide to perceive reality with a glass half-full perspective, it’s going to be so much better.

“If something negative happens in your life, feel it, learn from it, let it go and get back to focusing on the life you’re excited to live” (148).

Look for the silver lining in every situation. It doesn’t matter if it’s work related, relationship related, school related, etc.; it just matters that you accept that it’s happened or has happened, that you learned a lesson from it, that you can let it be part of your past and not figure it into the present, and get back on to track to living your life how you best see fit.

Chapter 18: “Procrastination, Perfection, And A Polish Beer Garden”

This chapter is about not putting off things in life, not worrying about if something is 100% perfect or not, and the author’s first job and how it allowed her to reflect on procrastination and perfectionism.

Here are my favorite quotes from the chapter:

“Because so often when we say we’re unqualified for something, what we’re really saying is that we’re too scare to try it, not that we can’t do it” (150-151).

I experienced this just yesterday, at my job as a special education para. I was asked to lead the class like a substitute teacher and not a para. I had never done this before and only knew exactly what a PARA was supposed to do, not a TEACHER. At first, when I was asked to lead the class, I was hesitant. All I could think about is how I’d never taught a class before with the title of “teacher” and how I would mess up. However, I realized that I wasn’t unqualified at all to lead the class, just that I was scared of failing. So I lead the class; there were bumps along the way but other teachers in the classroom complimented me and said I did a good job, and I learned A LOT. This quote was SO TRUE in my case, and is for everyone else too. Give it a try, even if you don’t think you have the qualifications, because you never know what will happen until you try.

“Procrastination is one of the most popular forms of self-sabotage because it’s really easy” (152).

Self-sabotaging is the worst, but we do it all the time. I did it today when I indulged in some cookies. Don’t procrastinate because it will only make your life harder and prevent you from reaching your goals.

“If you’re serious about changing your life, you’ll find a way. If you’re not, you’ll find an excuse” (153).

TRUTH. Think about this the next time you’re considering a life change.

“Nobody else cares or will probably even notice that everything isn’t 100 percent perfect-and, quite honestly, nothing ever will be 100 percent perfect anyway so you might as well start now” (153).

We all want things in life to be perfect, right!? Well, truth is: perfection DOESN’T EXIST. So just shoot for the stars and go after your goals and dreams even if you’re not 100% sure about if it will go all right or be perfect, because it can never be.

I hope you enjoyed the selected quotes from these two chapters. Definitely read this book to enlighten and strengthen yourself on your happy and healthy adventure. πŸ™‚ ❀


Leave a Reply

