Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham

Since reading You Are A Badass by Jen Sincero (which is an AWESOME book, btw), I picked up Lauren Graham’s book, Talking As Fast As I Can. I loved her in Gilmore Girls and Parenthood, and figured that I HAD to pick up her book and read it! There’s some great inspirational nuggets in her book that I’ve read thus far that I want to share with all of you. Hope you enjoy these quotes and pick up Lauren’s book to read on your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

“I still find that, in general, having a plan is, well, a good plan. But when my carefully laid plan laughed at me, rather than clutch at it too tightly I just made a new one, even if it was one that didn’t immediately make sense. In blindly trying a different path, I accidentally found one that worked better.”

How GREAT is this piece of advice!? It’s always good to have a plan, but we have to trust that God’s plan is the best plan and that He will lead us on the right path. We also have to take a leap of faith, even if a plan is in place.

“I think that part of our frustration/fascination in this arena (health) is because we’re always holding out hope that’s there’s a secret combination of elements that will make something that isn’t easy a little easier. But I’m sorry to tell you that, in my experience, there’s no secret to accomplishing almost any goal worth pursuing.”

If you want to be healthy, lose weight, gain muscle, or pursue any health related goal (or ANY goal, for that matter) you have to WORK for it.

“You have to find what works for you, not what works for someone else”

You’ve probably heard the adage, “It’s not everyone’s cup of tea.” This quote is that adage in more relatable terms (especially if you’re more of a coffee drinker). Not everyone is the same, so what works for someone else may not work for you. Accept that and keep searching for what works for you.

“…let’s all chillax about it and spend more time being kind to ourselves and doing truly useful things like trying to resuscitate words that were never cool, like chillax.”

Wait, chillax has NEVER been a cool word? Must’ve missed the memo. But anyways, focus on being nice to yourself and doing things that make you happy and benefit you and the people you surround yourself with, instead of worrying about trivial things that will just cause you stress. Because NO ONE deserves that!

“Also, while there’s nothing wrong with doing things to make you feel better, I just wish the choices were limited to simpler things many of us have access to…”

Find things that you can do or have easy access to to make you happier! This can be anything from taking a walk to having a cup of coffee. Remember that THINGS don’t always make you feel better.

“Whether it’s on your own or through someone else, it’s wonderful to be introduced to something you didn’t realize you needed.”

This is EXACTLY how I feel about Beachbody! I didn’t realize I needed a new program for my fitness and nutrition, and that I was kind of stuck in a rut regarding this area of my life. Thank goodness for one of my best friends connecting me to a Beachbody coach, and from there building a network of people that have introduced me to all of the wonderfulness of Beachbody!

“Because, here’s the thing: I was fine on my own, and so are you. But it can be hard when you feel ready for Happy Couplehood and you seem to have missed the train. As my friend Oliver Platt used to say to me about hopes and dreams I’d share with him: It’s coming just not on your time frame.”

The same friend that introduced me to Beachbody also taught me that before you can love anyone else, you have to love yourself. You have to recognize that you are okay by yourself and that you don’t need someone else in order to be okay. Also, things will happen when they are supposed to, but it’s on God’s time frame and plan for you, not yours.

“But life doesn’t often spell things out for you or give you what you want exactly when you want it, otherwise it wouldn’t be called life, it would be called vending machine.”


Leave a Reply

