Uninvited: Chapter 2

Chapter 2: “Three Questions We Must Consider”

Chapter 2 is about how when we think about God, there are 3 questions we should ask ourselves. I talked this chapter over with a close friend, and I realized how important these 3 questions are and how we should ask them each and every day. I hope you enjoy the selected quotes from the chapter and consider asking yourself the 3 questions every day of your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

“I needed truth to inform what I believed about myself. […] The beliefs we hold should hold us up even when life feels like it’s falling apart” (16).

We should have positive and strong beliefs about ourselves that are formed by truth. We need those beliefs when we feel like the universe is against us; go out and find them and TRULY believe in them.

“My identity must be anchored to the truth of who God is and who He is to me” (16) .

When you believe in God and put all of yourself into Him, life will not let you down.

“We must tie our identities to our unchanging, unflinching, unyielding, undeniably good, and unquestionably loving God” (16).

God never will let you down, especially what He thinks about you. So associate your identity with God because he will support you NO MATTER WHAT.

The 3 Questions:

Is God good?

Is God good to me?

Do I trust God to be God?

Page 18

“God’s goodness will eventually set the world right. […] God is good. His plans are good. His requirements are good. His salvation is good. His grace is good. His forgiveness is good. His restoration is good” (20).

God is good in ALL WAYS, if you allow yourself to see His presence that way.

“We are not necessarily doubting that God will do the best for us; we are wondering how painful the best will turn out to be” (C.S. Lewis, 21).

We never truly know God’s plan for us, He is the only one that beholds all of that information. We never know if what God will give us in our life will hurt or how much it will hurt, but we have to believe in His plan.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose” (Romans 8:28, 21).

If you really love God, then God will do good things for you that align with your purpose and His purpose for you.

“…those with minds fully braced, upheld, and supported by truth and trust in God will be kept in perfect peace. The mind feasts on what it focuses on. What consumes my thinking will be the making or the breaking of my identity” (22).

If you focus on your relationship with God, your life and identity will reflect that. Living life fully and truly believing in your faith and in God’s entirety is the best, and really only good way, to live. ❤


2 thoughts on “Uninvited: Chapter 2

  1. This was such a great overview of this chapter ❤

    Just reading your overviews helps me see what I read in a different perspective too. Like that first quote about how we need truth to inform us about ourselves. Honestly, it reminds me of my Peer Ministry. If I had asked myself these three questions constantly I would not have ended broken at the end of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

