Uninvited: Chapter 15

Chapter 15: “I Want to Run Away”

This chapter is about how when we tackle a tough situation and aren’t sure what to do, we just want to escape it all.

“People can’t fix from the outside a perspective that needs to be rewired on the inside. Only the Lord can do that” (190).

We can’t change other people. We can try, but it just won’t happen, especially if it’s a person’s mindset. The best thing to do is direct them to God and pray for them. We can pray that they turn towards the Lord to help them see the light. God is the only one who can do this, we have to trust this for ourselves and for others.

“If you carefully observe all these commands I am giving you to follow-to love the Lord your God, to walk in obedience to him and to hold fast to him-then the Lord will drive out all these nations before you, and you will dispossess nations larger and stronger than you” (Deuteronomy 11:22-23, 191).

All God wants from us is to love Him, to follow Him without resisting, and to be loyal to Him. Sometimes this is hard-I know I’ve struggled with doing these things, especially when going through a rough patch or tough situation. However, if we do these things, He will take us to great places.

“In the midst of struggles, He is there … I just have to acknowledge that reality. “God, I love You. I don’t love this situation. But I love You. Therefore, I have everything I need to keep putting one foot in front of the other and walking through until I get to the other side of this” (192).

God is ALWAYS there. Sometimes it doesn’t feel like it (maybe you’ve cursed the skies when things are going south-or maybe that’s just me), but we have to REMEMBER that He IS THERE. We have to TRUST in our LOVE for Him and know that we can’t fully understand God’s plan for us. We just have to BELIEVE and LOVE and KEEP GOING.

“But if I really believed that God’s healing is more powerful than any hurt the world could ever hand me, I could trust God. I could trust His plans” (196).

His healing powers are the strongest thing on this Earth when we are hurting. Allow God to course through you and heal you, and trust that He will do good for you and has a great plan for you-better than any plan you could think of for yourself.

“I trust that in all these things, Your will is good. I can trust You even when I don’t understand” (196).

God is GOD and we are not meant to understand EVERYTHING He has planned for us-which is WHY we HAVE TO trust in His goodness for us.

“We need both the winds of hardship and the winds of relief to sweep across our lives if we are to be truly fruitful” (199).

We can’t fully appreciate the success is our lives without knowing hardship and pain. It hardly ever feels this way-but success is sweeter especially after we’ve experienced defeat.

I hope you enjoyed this chapter of Uninvited and find it’s way into your heart on your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤


Leave a Reply

