Uninvited: Bonus Chapter

Bonus Chapter: “What’s It Like to Do Life with Me?”

Lysa starts the chapter with a heartfelt letter and explains that this chapter is to help us process everything we’ve learned throughout this book in one place. After her letter, she shares an anecdote about her performance at a conference. She talks about how she was asked to wear a device that would help an audience member hear better. As a speech and hearing major in college, this story made my heart light up. Lysa shared how it’s such a blessing to hear, and most of us take our hearing for granted. She talks about how sometimes we don’t always listen, and it’s a shame. She says how we can work on our listening to better our lives and the lives of those around us.

“My son, pay attention to what I say;

turn your ear to my words.

Do not let them out of your sight,

keep them within your heart;

for they are life to those who find them

and health to one’s whole body”

(Proverbs 4:20-22, 216).

We have the ability to read God’s words and listen to them at mass, but we have to be willing to actually hear them, listen to them, and take them in-and then, hopefully, apply His words to our lives. His Word enriches our lives, so keep them close and let them fill you.

Lysa also talks about connections, and how we can bridge new connections and strengthen our existing connections-even when we experience rough patches in our relationships. Some things that stood out to me on this list of things we say when connecting were:

“Questioning actions without having all the facts.

Assuming the worst about intentions instead of believing the best.

Competing with another person’s accomplishments instead of celebrating them”

(219-220).

Many times, someone will do something and I can’t for the life of me figure out WHY. The last one I listed really hits home for me too-since I can think of many examples of this Β in my life. But, whenever I find myself feeling jealous because of all the good stuff happening in others lives, I remember that God has a plan for me filled with good stuff too and that another person’s accomplishments can’t threaten mine.

“As a follower of Jesus, we are followers of wisdom” (220).

With wisdom comes logic, and as a follower of Jesus and the Christian faith, I know that God is the most insightful and knows all when it comes to our path for life.

I hope you enjoyed this blog post on the additional chapter of Uninvited! There’s an assessment at the end of the book for you to complete-I highly suggest you buy a copy of and read Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst on your happy and healthy adventure. πŸ™‚ ❀

 


Leave a Reply

