Daring Greatly-Part 1

Before I get going on Daring Greatly:Part 1-it’s been a a little over 2 WEEKS since I’ve last posted on my blog. Life gets a little crazy sometimes-hence the lack of posts. I hope you enjoy this post and the ones to follow on Daring Greatly by Brene Brown.

Part 1

Intro:My Adventures in the Arena 

Scarcity: Looking Inside Our Culture of “Never Enough”

For this book and its blog posts, I’m going to share the notes I took. I listened to this book instead of reading it, which was a unique experience. There’s no page numbers, and no direct quotes. However, what I have written down and what I’m sharing are ideas that spoke to me and that I believe can relate to everyone (bullets in bold are my favorites from the section). Enjoy and I hope you are having a happy and healthy adventure. 😊❤️

  • Lean into discomfort and uncertainty 
  • Connection is why we are here
  • Wholehearted living: 1. Cultivate authenticity 2. Self-compassion 3. Resilient spirit 4. Gratitude and joy 5. Intuition and trusting faith 6. Creativity 7. Play and rest 8. Calm and stillness 9. Meaningful work 10. Laughter, song, dance 
  • Wholehearted living means engaging from a place of worthiness, cultivating courage, compassion, and connection for being enough; being imperfect but knowing you are lovable and worthy
  • 1. Love and belonging 2. BELIEVE you’re WORTHY of LOVE 3. Strong belief in worthiness comes from daily cultivation and our choices 4. Live life with the 3 C’s (above) 5. Vulnerability is a catalyst
  • Vulnerability is the CORE of EXPERIENCE 
  • PERFECTION DOESN’T EXIST
  • What we know matters, but who we are matters more 
  • Surrounded by messages of “an ordinary life is a meaningless life” and “not enough” and being defined by social media “likes”
  • Culture of scarcity = “Never Enough” problem
  • Shame, comparison and disengagement are scarcity factors
  • Awareness, commitment, and work- we’re called to fight against the scarcity culture 
  • We HAVE TO OWN our VULNERABILITIES and ENGAGE with the world from a place of WORTHINESS 

Leave a Reply

