Daring Greatly: Part 3

Part 3: Understanding and Combating Shame 

I hope you enjoy this post-it has all of my notes that get into the topic of shame. Have a happy Thursday on your adventure! 😊❤️

  • We all have dark and light inside of us- from Harry Potter, Sirius Black ⚡️🖤
  • We HAVE TO BE VULNERABLE if we want more courage and to dare greatly
  • Sense of WORTHINESS inspires us to be vulnerable, share openly, and persevere. SHAME keeps us SMALL, resentful, and afraid
  • Daring Greatly requires worthiness
  • The greatest critic we face is ourselves 
  • When we dare Greatly, there will be failures- Theodore Roosevelt 
  • 1. We ALL have shame 2. We’re afraid to talk about shame 3. The less we talk about shame, the more control it has over our lives
  • Shame is fear of disconnection 
  • Shame is real pain
  • Elements of SHAME RESILIENCE: practice authenticity, move through without sacrificing values, and gaining courage
  • Move from shame to empathy
  • We NEED to have SELF-COMPASSION
  • 1. Recognize shame and triggers 2. Critical awareness 3. Reach out 4. Speak shame
  • 1. Practice courage and reach out 2. Talk to yourself kindly 3. OWN the story
  • “I am not what has happened to me, I am what I choose to become” ~Carl Jung
  • Empathy = connection of “me too” and “you’re not alone” 
  • Shame = I am bad
  • Guilt = I did something bad
  • Humiliation = I don’t deserve this, this isn’t about me 
  • Embarrassment = fleeting, can laugh about it later, we don’t feel alone, won’t define us 

Leave a Reply

