Daring Greatly: Part 8

Part 8: Wholehearted Parenting-Daring to Be the Adults We Want Our Children to Be

Now, you might be thinking, “What could Bridget POSSIBLY have gotten from a chapter about parenting when she herself isn’t a parent?” Trust me-I considered skipping this part of the book because that EXACT thought was running through my head. However, I read through it because I’m someone who can’t just SKIP part of a book because I don’t think it will be relevant, and I have to finish any book I start, cover to cover, NO MATTER WHAT. 

I work in education, mostly with elementary school children, so a lot of what I gained from this chapter will transpire in my work there. Also, many of the great tidbits in this part are applicable to EVERYONE, not just parents. I hope you enjoy this post and remember to be an example and role model for everyone you encounter in your life on your happy and healthy adventure. 😊❤️

  • Who we are and how we engage is important and determines how we view our SELF-WORTH; our families influence how we view our self-worth
  • We must be what we want our children to become
  • VULNERABILITY SHAPES who we are
  • We WANT to live and love with our WHOLE HEART and BE OURSELF
  • COMPASSION and CONNECTION give purpose and meaning to our lives, we have to experience them
  • In order to fully experience love and belonging, you have to BELIEVE you DESERVE those things
  • Perfection doesn’t teach striving for excellence or being your best self, teaches what other people think and not acknowledging what they think or feel
  • Let your face speak what’s in your heart
  • BIG difference between “you are bad” and “I did something bad”
  • Normalizing = me too
  • You can’t claim to care about the welfare of children if you shame other parents for the choices they’re making-engagement, connection, respect, honoring difference, finding our own path
  • Fitting in is NOT belonging
  • Engagement means investing time and energy
  • Struggle and adversity makes us stronger
  • Hope is a combo of goal setting, having the tenacity and perseverance to pursue them, and believing in our own abilities
  • Sometimes the bravest thing you can do is show up 

Leave a Reply

