Present Over Perfect: Part 1

Part 1: Sea Change

Part 1 talks about discovering yourself and God’s love for you on your personal journey, and how this is the most IMPORTANT thing in your life-nothing should take priority over it. It also covers the following items:

  1. How we stuff our schedules with should’s and haves and to-dos
  2. How we don’t take good care of ourselves
  3. How we can make sure that being busy doesn’t run our lives
  4. How we put up boundaries and shut people out
  5. How we need to learn to say no
  6. How disappointing people is inevitable
  7. What taking time out in nature can do for your soul

I hope you enjoy this post with quotes from Part 1 and take the time to discover yourself and God’s love for you on your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

“Now I know that the best thing I can offer to this world is not my force or energy, but a well-tended spirit, a wise and brave soul” (28).

“…that makes you you, that makes you great, that makes you different from everyone else is also the thing that, unchecked, will ruin you” (33).

“Part of being an adult is taking responsibility for resting your body and your soul. And part of being an adult is learning to meet you own needs, because when it comes down to it, with a few exceptions, no one else is going to do it for you” (36).

“And I know that activity–any activity–keeps me from feeling, so that becomes a drug, too” (37).

“Which brings us, literally, to the heart of the conversations: the heart, the cavernous ache. Am I loved? Does someone see me? Do I matter? Am I safe?” (37).

“I learned a long time ago that if I hustle fast enough, the emptiness will never catch up with me” (38).

“Any of those things can keep you from feeling pain for a while–that’s what drugs do” (38).

“But this is where we grow, where we learn, where our lives actually begin to change” (38).

“Busyness is an illness of the spirit” (Eugene Peterson, 39).

“As I unravel the many things that brought me to this crisis point, one is undeniably my own belief that hard work can solve anything, that pushing through is always the right thing, that rest and slowness are for weak people, not for high-capacity people like me” (40).

“I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you are not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again” (F. Scott Fitzgerald, 43).

“…we have some say over the size of our own lives–that we have the agency and authority and freedom to make them smaller or larger, heavier or lighter” (45).

“I’d spent all my yeses, and in order to find peace and health in my life, I needed to learn to say no” (48).

“You begin to build up muscle memory for what it feels like to say exactly what you feel, what you need, what your limitations are” (50).

“Draw close to people who honor your no, who cheer you on for telling the truth, who value your growth more than they value their own needs getting met or their own pathologies celebrated” (50).

“This is what I know for sure: along the way you will disappoint someone” (53).

“What you need along the way: a sense of God’s deep, unconditional love, and a strong sense of your own purpose” (53).

“That’s why knowing your purpose and priorities for a given season is so valuable–because those commitments become the litmus test for all the decisions you face” (54).

“We have to accept the idea of our own limitations in order to accept the idea that we’ll disappoint people” (55).

“But I’m learning that time and honesty and space and prayer and writing and talking with Aaron (author’s husband) help me see more clearly what I can and can’t do, with a full heart and without resentment or hustling” (56).

“Some of being an adult, though, is about protecting and preserving what we discover to be the best parts of ourselves, and here’s a hint” they’re almost always the parts we’ve struggled against for years” (59).

“The more I listen to myself, my body, my feelings, and the less I listen to the “should” and “must” and “to-do” voices, the more I realize my body and spirit have been whispering all along, but I couldn’t hear them over the chaos and noise of the life I’d created” (61).

“…what people think about you means nothing in comparison to what you believe about yourself” (63).

“The crucial journey, then, for me, has been from dependence on external expectations, down into my own self, deeper still into God’s view of me, his love for me that doesn’t change, that will not change, that defines and grounds everything” (63).


Leave a Reply

