Present Over Perfect: Part 2

Part 2: Tunnels

Part Two covers how we :

  1. Dig tunnels for ourselves
  2. Can view ourselves and the greatness of prayer with the analogy of vinegar and oil
  3. Have souls that are (or should be) a wide and holy space
  4. Should try to embrace stillness instead of the rat race we’re accustomed to
  5. Should see the beauty in the stars and God within them

I hope you enjoy this post with quotes from this part and are able to pick up this book to read on your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

“My belief in my own worth, because of God’s love” (72).

 

“I used to believe, in the deepest way, that there was something irreparably wrong with me. And love was a lie. Now I’m beginning to see that love is the truth and the darkness is a lie” (72).

 

“The longer I practiced this new way of praying, of listening, of dwelling deeply in God’s love, the more I began to feel truly present, instead of being hijacked a thousand times a day by my wild mind” (73).

 

“Geri said that when you being to pray, pour out the vinegar first-the acid, whatever’s troubling you, whatever hurt you, whatever is harsh and jangling your nerves or spirit” (74).

 

“God is real and good and present and working” (75).

 

“When I admit that it exists, when I bring it to God in prayer and silence, that’s when connection can begin” (76).

 

“You pour it out, letting the all powerful God who knows you and loves you see you as you are, the scariest thing any of us can do: allow ourselves to be seen” (77).

 

“Try to keep your soul always in peace and quiet, always ready for whatever our Lord may wish to work in you. It is certainly a higher virtue of the soul, and a greater grace, to be able to enjoy the Lord in different times and different places than in only one” (Ignatius of Loyola, 79).

 

“When you begin to carry God’s love and true peace deep within your actual soul like a treasure chest, you realize that you don’t have to fling yourself around the planet searching for those things outside yourself” (93).

 

“But I supposed I should have, because God in his goodness has been doing this thing in my life for a long time-surprising me, drawing me along to places I could never have imagined” (97).

 


Leave a Reply

