Present Over Perfect: Part 5

Part 5: Living in Time

Part 5 discusses:

  • How we need to clear away some things in our lives to experience a joyful life
  • How we need to have moments that aren’t about productivity
  • How we need to simplify our lives AND
  • How God commands us to be like snow or rainfall- essentially, BE YOURSELF

I hope you all enjoy this post and pick up this book to read on your happy and healthy adventure. 🙂 ❤

“The greatest tragedy of human existence is not to live in time, in both senses of the word” (Christian Wiman, 169).

 

“I want to respect all people. I want to learn from all people, most especially people who are different from me and who disagree with me, but pleasing, for me, is over” (172).

 

“I’m learning to trust the voice within, the voice of God’s Spirit, the whisper of my own soul” (173).

 

“My heart is the best part of me” (175).

 

“What would our lives be like if our days were studded by tiny, completely unproductive, silly, nonstrategic, wild and beautiful five-minute breaks, reminders that our days are for loving and learning and laughing, not for pushing and planning, reminders that it’s all about the heart, not about the hustle?” (175)

 

“What we surround ourselves with, how we regard our material possessions and our physical selves: these things matter” (180).

 

“I’m able to give more focused attention on the higher stakes decisions of my life […] when I don’t have to think hard about what to wear or how to manage all my stuff” (184).

 

“I want the stuff in my life to be light, easily managed, simple, so that the best of my energy is free for people, dreams, creativity…” (185)

 

“How we live matters, and what you choose to own will shape your life, whether you choose to admit it or not. Let’s live lightly, freely, courageously, surrounded only by what brings joy, simplicity, beauty” (185).

 

“God’s voice thunders in marvelous ways; he does great things beyond our understanding. He says to the snow, “Fall on the earth,” and to the rain shower “Be a mighty downpour” (Job 37:5-6, 189).

 

“Essentially, he’s saying: just do the thing I’ve actually created you to do” (189).

 

“…he’s asking you to be the thing he’s already created for you to be” (189).

 

“He says, essentially: do your thing. Do the thing that you love to do, that you’ve been created to do” (170).

 

“What do you need to leave behind in order to recover that essential self that God created? What do you need to walk away from in order to reclaim those parts of you that God designed, unique to you and for his purposes?” (191).

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

